Raag Hindustani
© 2011, Sādhana

Compositions in Raag Durga

Raag Durga is filled with innocence and purity. It is traditionally performed from late evening to midnight. This raga belongs to the Bilawal thaat. Its vadi (most important note) is ma, and samvadi (second most important note) is Sa. Raag Durga's aaroh and avaroh (ascending & descending scales) are as follows:

Scale: Durga

Below are two simple compositions (bandish) in Raag Durga.

1. Sakhi mori rum-jhum

This composition is a madhyalaya bandish from the Gwalior gharana (school). It describes a dark stormy night and the poet's helplessness as she wonders how to keep her tryst with her beloved.

Sakhi mori rum-jhum (key A♭)

Click to download

2. Gaavat durga ragini

This composition is a lakshan geet by Shankar Rao Vyas. A lakshan geet is a composition that outlines the main characteristics of a raga. It serves as a mnemonic device for students. For instance, this lakshan geet tells you that Raag Durga is a pentatonic raga comprising all the natural notes except G and N, that its vadi is m, and samvadi is S, that the raga's mood is heroic and solemn, and that it is sung at night.

Gaavat durga ragini (key A)

Click to download

Compositions in other ragas